Winners of the 2010 Australian National Architecture Awards

Via Bustler
The Australian Institute of Architects presented the winners of the National Architecture Awards. The 2010 awards were presented to Australia’s most inspiring recent architectural projects and architects, at a special ceremony in Australia’s capital Canberra. A total 33 awards and commendations across 12 categories were awarded to projects in Queensland, NSW, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and offshore in Singapore, Thailand, Japan, Tanzania, Indonesia and India. 2010 marks the 30th birthday for the national awards, introduced in 1961.

click image to enlarge - The Emil Sodersten Award for Interior Architecture: ANZ Centre (Melbourne, VIC) by HASSELL, Photo: Earl Carter

Presenting the awards, Jury Chair Melinda Dodson said: “It’s a contradictory time for architecture – we’ve had economic buoyancy followed by economic downturn. As architects we’re part of a carbon emitting industry, so it’s natural that the jury reflected on the future, applied the ‘enduring architecture’ test, and the essential test of sustainability. We were heartened by the many instances of architects demonstrating leadership, advocacy and innovation. Projects where a positive transformative act had occurred, resulting in new ideas for the profession and for the community about architecture; architects doing ordinary things in extraordinary ways. Often leadership and perseverance was matched by the client.”

click image to enlarge - The Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture: Australian Expo Pavillion (China) by Wood/Marsh Pty Ltd Architecture, Photo: Peter Bennetts

The 2010 Sir Zelman Cowen Award for Public Architecture was a clear demonstration of this – being awarded this year to the Epping to Chatswood Rail Link, Intermediate Stations in Sydney by national practice HASSELL. In a triple win for the firm, HASSELL also received the Emil Sodersten Award for Interior Architecture for the ANZ Centre in Melbourne, and a National Commendation for Urban Design for the Adelaide Zoo Entrance Precinct in Adelaide.

click image to enlarge - 25 Year Award for Enduring Architecture: Supreme Court Complex Hobart (TAS) by Department of Public Works / Peter Partridge, Photo: Leigh Woolley

Ms Dodson said the Intermediate Stations represented “a genuine evolutionary and visionary approach to station management and work environments. This all contributes to a project of unique competence and beauty that derives its architecture through common sense with sensitive design decisions”. Access elements “appear as sculptures within a space which is free of ornamentation, beautifully ordered and reliant only on light and people to colour the architecture”….. Check the rest of the winners here