Winners of the 2010 Aga Khan Award for Architecture

Via Bustler

The five projects selected for the 2010 Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced today at a prize-giving ceremony held at the Museum of Islamic Art in Doha, Qatar. The five projects selected by the 2010 Master Jury are:

* Wadi Hanifa Wetlands, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
* Revitalisation of the Hypercentre of Tunis, Tunisia
* Madinat Al-Zahra Museum, Cordoba, Spain
* Ipekyol Textile Factory, Edirne, Turkey
* Bridge School, Xiashi, Fujian, China

Wadi Hanifa Wetlands in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia - Click image to enlarge

At the Award ceremony, the Aga Khan also presented the Chairman’s Award to Professor Oleg Grabar in recognition of his lifetime contribution to the field of Islamic art and architecture. The Chairman’s Award was established to honor achievements that fall outside the scope of the Master Jury’s mandate and is made in recognition of the lifetime achievements of distinguished architects and academics. It has been presented on only three previous occasions.

Madinat al-Zahra Museum in Cordoba, Spain - click image to enlarge

The winning projects were selected by an independent Master Jury from a shortlist of 19 projects announced in May 2010. A total of 401 projects were presented for consideration for the 2010 Award. In their statement, the Master Jury noted that a central concern in making their selection had been the issues of identity and plurality and their intersection in an increasingly globalized world….. Check the rest of the entry at bustler