Architecture Lab

AIANY Design Awards 2011: Call for submission

AIA New York‘s annual Design Awards Program recognizes outstanding architectural design by New York City architects and for work in New York City. The purpose of the awards program is to honor the architects, clients, and consultants who work together to achieve design excellence.

Submission Deadline: February 4, 5 PM
Winners Announced at Design Awards Jury Symposium: March 1, 6 PM
Design Awards Luncheon at Cipriani, Wall Street: April 12
Design Awards Exhibition Opening: April 14, 6 PM

Registration and Submission:
The Design Awards submissions process is completely digital. To register, visit Submissions include project credit information, a project description, and image uploads. Images must be uploaded as a single PDF file no larger than 6 mb. Full instructions are available at
Online submissions will close at 5:00 pm on Friday, 4 February. Any submission that includes the name(s) of the entrant or design team, or those that otherwise do not meet the stated requirements will be disqualified without reconsideration.

Entry Fees:
$200 AIA Members
$500 Other Registered Architects
$100 Associate AIA members

Categories and Eligibility:
The four categories for AIA New York Chapter Design Awards are

* Architecture
* Interiors
* Urban Design
* Un-Built Work

Work submitted in the Architecture and Interiors categories must be completed. In the Urban Design Category, work may be in any state of process or completion.

The Un-Built Work category recognizes conceptual work, including but not limited to landscape design, land art, research, architectural objects and installations. Projects undertaken for academic credit are not eligible. All Un-Built projects must have a commission. Responses to competitions will be considered.

Architecture located anywhere in the world designed by AIA New York members or by registered architects practicing in New York City, and architecture located in New York City designed by registered architects practicing anywhere in the world is eligible. Associate AIA members may submit in the Urban Design and Un-built Work categories only.

Architecture and Interiors must have been completed, and Urban Design and Un-built Work must have been initiated, after 1 January 2006.

Judging Criteria:
Each entry is judged for the success with which the project has met its individual requirements. Projects must exhibit design achievement that
demonstrates exemplary skill and creativity in the resolution and integration of formal, functional, and technical requirements, including ecological
stewardship and social responsibility. Projects should reflect a strong sense of place, of ecology, of history, or of purpose as an integral part of the demonstrated design excellence. Projects may be exemplary in:
Technical advancement, which includes engineering achievements (structural, mechanical, transportation, computer, etc.) as well as innovative use of materials and urban systems.
Preservation/restoration, including the demonstration of exemplary skill, sensitivity, and thoroughness in preservation, restoration, or adaptive reuse and/ or sensitive reinforcement of successful historical development patterns. Sustainability, which demonstrates achievements in energy reduction goals set forth by the AIA Sustainable Architectural Practice Position Statement and 2030 Challenge (see and, including exploration of new approaches to ecological planning, collection, storage, and distribution of renewable resources and energies, and improvement to quality of life and the environment.

To view a PDF of the entire submission process, please click here.